The current minimum wage in Hawaii stands at $8.50 per hour which is slightly higher than the federal minimum wage. It doesn’t mean though that it is enough. This will still depend on several factors. But first let’s take a look on how the minimum was has been faring over the years. The minimum wage in Hawaii as of 2007 was $7.25 per hour until it was increased in accordance to President Obama’s new law in 2015 making it $7.75 per hour. It was again increased by 75 cents this year and is set to increase to $9.25 per hour by January next year. It will continue to increase the following year, 2018, to $10.10 per hour too. But even with these increases, experts and residents still claim that the minimum wage is not enough to warrant a comfortable lifestyle.
The current minimum wage of $8.50 is only applicable to regular adult workers. The rate for state and county workers as well as student workers may vary in accordance with the law. New and young workers under the age of 20 are paid $4.25 per hour as a training wage for their first 90 days of employment. After the 90-day training period, they are entitled to the same minimum wage and benefits as those of adults. Students, on the other hand may work part-time may work for up to 20 hours per week and will be paid 85% of the Hawaiian minimum wage leading it to $6.16 per hour. The minimum wage for trainees and interns is at $7.75 in the for-profit sectors. They are also entitled to to overtime pay if they exceed the 40 hour per week standard hours.
Concurrently, a different minimum wage applies for tipped workers. By law, a maximum of 75 cents may be deducted to your hourly rate only if you are earning more than $7 minimum wage through tips and wages. Tipped employees mostly apply to employees of hotels, motels, restaurants and tourist spots who regularly receive more than $20 in tips per month.
The minimum overtime pay in Hawaii stands at $12.75 per hour. This is applicable to employees who works in excess of the 40 hours required in a week. The overtime rate may easily be calculated as it is half times the regular hour rate of pay. For some industries, their standard hour per week is 48 hours. In these cases, they are only required to pay the overtime fee once the 48 hours was exceeded. The calculations will be the same. These particular industries involve agriculture, canning, packing or first processing, horticultural or agricultural commodity, processing of sugar cane, slaughtering, handling or dressing poultry or livestock, and packing of seasonal fresh fruits. For tipped workers, their overtime pay may vary but it should never be less than their minimum wage.
For employer violations on the minimum wage and overtime fees, the employee may report to the nearest Wage and Hour Division or he may call their toll-free hotline.